DSGA Pro

andy-pros-pageWelcome Letter from your Professional, Andrew 

Thank you to the DSGA Board for allowing me to advise and assist the DSGA.  I have been in the golf business since 1997 with much of that time in player development and consulting roles to help grow leagues and participation. Additionally, I am a certified “Back-to-Golf” Instructor.  If I can help any of you to better your golf game, please contact me at (972) 890-7086 or pro@dsgadallas.org.  I am giving discounts to DSGA members and your significant others.  I look forward in meeting everyone this season! - Andrew

 

Placing and Replacing
One way of remembering the distinction between placing and replacing is through this convenient summary;

Placing is putting a ball on a spot for the first time;

1) Putting the original ball on a new spot (e.g. when the original lie has been altered, Rule 20-3b, as above, or when ‘Preferred Lies’ applies).
2) Putting a substituted ball on a new spot (e.g. Rule 20-3b when the original ball has been lost).
3) Putting a substituted ball on the original spot (e.g. Rule 18-1, when the ball at rest was moved by an outside agency and has been lost).

Replacing is everything else;

1) Putting the original ball back on the original spot (e.g. on the putting green, or when it has been lifted because it interfered with another player’s stroke).
2) Dropping the ball (or a ball), required to be replaced, as near as possible to an estimated spot not precisely known (e.g. Rule 20-3c, as above).

So confusingly, there are some situations in the Rules of Golf when replacing a ball may mean dropping it at the estimated spot, as in Rule 20-3c when the player does not know the exact spot where there ball was at rest. For example, unless the ball was at rest on the putting green when it was moved, e.g. by an outside agency, Rule 20-3c trumps Rule 18-1, which states, “If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.”
Andrew, PGA, M.B.A.
PGA Golf Instructor